Get our posts emailed to you with our monthly newsletter, subscribe here.

Never ending learning is a mindset all the successful individuals have adopted. Design is a complex field that takes years to understand and master. It is no way a separate field and includes many different topics great designers need to dig in, just to mention some, you will definitely need to learn about design history, human behavior, psychology, business and more.

There are many great books out there that will help you to become a better designer and build better products for our world. In this compilation I’ve gathered some great books including classics like “Don’t make me think” by Steve Krug and some new promising pieces published just couple of months ago. Let the 2015 begins with some fresh knowledge.

Execute

Author: Drew Wilson & Josh Long

Execute is a new book by Drew Wilson & Josh Long about executing on ideas immediately when inspired rather than following the normal rules.

The Icon Handbook

Author: Jon Hicks

The go-to book for the modern designer, starting at the basics and taking you right the way through to being able to create stunning iconography.

Responsive Web Design

Author: Ethan Marcotte

Since its groundbreaking release in 2011, Responsive Web Design remains a fundamental resource for anyone working on the web. Learn how to think beyond the desktop, and craft designs that respond to your users’ needs.

Stop Thinking Like a Freelancer: The Evolution of a $1M Web Designer

Author: Liam Veitch

Freelancing is f**ing difficult. It’s tough to plan for growth (in client volumes and revenue) when current income is too unstable to even consider anything beyond the here and now.

How to Build a Billion Dollar App: Discover the secrets of the most successful entrepreneurs of our time

Author: George Berkowski

In “How to Build a Billion Dollar App”, serial tech entrepreneur George Berkowski – one of the minds behind the internationally successful taxi hailing app Hailo – gives you exclusive access to the secrets behind the success of the select group of apps that have achieved billion-dollar success.

On Web Typography

Author: Jason Santa Maria

You’ll discover how typography shapes the way we read and how you can adapt the craft’s practices for the screen.

Design Is a Job

Author: Mike Monteiro

Co-founder of Mule Design and raconteur Mike Monteiro wants to help you do your job better. From contracts to selling design, from working with clients to working with each other, you’ll learn why navigating the business of design is just as important as the craft of it. Cultivated from his own experience, Mike packs this brief book with knowledge you can’t afford not to know.

Creativity For Sale: How I Made $1,000,000 Wearing T-Shirts and How You Can Turn Your Passion Into Profit, Too

Author: Jason SurfrApp

Successful entrepreneur Jason Surfrapp (formerly Jason Headsetsdotcom and Jason Sadler) shares his hard-earned advice on how to use out of the box thinking to turn passions into profits. Creativity For Sale is the story of how Jason took a crazy idea (IWearYourShirt) and turned it into social media marketing empire that generated over $1M in revenue in just a few short years.

Remote

Author: Jason Fried & David Heinemeier Hansson

Remote, the new book by 37signals, shows both employers and employees how they can work together, remotely, from any desk, in any space, in any place, anytime, anywhere.

Design for Hackers

Author: David Kadavy

Design for Hackers is a book that teaches the principles of good visual design to programmers, developers, and makers of any kind.

Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration

Author: Ed Catmull & Amy Wallace

From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath. Forbes raves that Creativity, Inc. “just might be the business book ever written.”

Product Design for the Web: Principles of Designing and Releasing Web Products

Author: Randy J. Hunt

Web designers are no longer just web designers. To create a successful web product that’s as large as Etsy, Facebook, Twitter, or Pinterest–or even as small as a tiny app–you need to know more than just HTML and CSS. You need to understand how to create meaningful online experiences so that users want to come back again and again.

Smashing Book #4 — New Perspectives on Web Design

Author: Smashing Magazine

The brand new Smashing Book #4 provides practical, actionable takeaways by respected Web design experts, neatly packed in a gorgeous hardcover.

Mobile Design Book

Author: Paula Borowska & Tomas Laurinavicius

Discover what makes mobile apps successful. It goes without question that more and more people are using mobile devices and apps; however, there are some apps that are simply better than others.

Universal Principles of Design

Author: Jill Butler, Kritina Holden, Will Lidwell

This comprehensive, cross-disciplinary encyclopaedia of design pairs clear explanations of every design concept with visual examples of the concepts applied in practice.

UX Design for Startups

Author: Marcin Treder

A must read for any startup or grown-up company that wishes to keep its startup spirit and conquer the world with stunning UX Design.

Don’t Make Me Think: A Common Sense Approach to Web Usability, 2nd Edition

Author: Steve Krug

In this classic web design book on information design, Steve Krug shares why intuitive navigation is vital for the success of any web-based product.

Designing News: Changing the World of Editorial Design and Information Graphics

Author: Francesco Franchi

Francesco Franchi’s perceptive book about the design of media and information graphics. In it, Franchi also envisions the future of news reporting by publishing companies and on the internet. Francesco Franchi is one of the most exceptional talents working in information graphics today.

Kern and Burn

Author: Jessica Karle Heltzel & Tim Hoover

Kern and Burn: Conversations With Design Entrepreneurs is a beautiful two-color book that features candid conversations with 30 leading designers who have founded startups, channeled personal passions into self-made careers and taken risks to do what they love.

Manage Your Day-to-Day: Build Your Routine, Find Your Focus, and Sharpen Your Creative Mind (The 99U Book Series)

Author: Jocelyn K. Glei & 99U

Stop doing busywork. Start doing your best work. The world has changed and the way we work has to change, too. With wisdom from 20 leading creative minds, Manage Your Day-to-Day will give you a toolkit for tackling the new challenges of a 24/7, always-on workplace.

Posted by Tomas Laurinavicius

Tomas Laurinavicius is a blogger and designer from Lithuania. He's interested in web design, Photoshop and WordPress design. You can follow him on Twitter @tomaslau. Get in touch with him if you have interesting projects you want to collaborate on.